Award Ceremony Held

undergrads 2016

Left to right: Chee Thao, Kyle Kazmierczak, Daniel Dryer, Sean Fischer, Jacob Kruse, and Alfred Hartemink (Dept. of Soil Science chair). Not pictured: Logan Mohr and Durrell Naquin.

On Friday, April 22, the Department of Soil Science held an award ceremony for our Soil Science undergraduates.  The program started with a talk by Steve Ventura, who provided an historical context of Earth Day and the work of Gaylord Nelson. The award ceremony was led by Julie Garvin, who gave an overview of the student’s aspirations and interest in soils, and included a few wise words for their future.  It was followed by a reception in the Student Lounge.  Award Recipients are as follows:  Charles L. Ream Memorial Scholarship (2016-17): Daniel Dryer, Sean Fischer, Jacob Kruse, Logan Mohr, Durrell Naquin. Wis. Ag-Lime Association Scholarship (2016-17): Chee Thao. O.R. Zeasman Memorial Scholarship (2016-17): Kyle Kazmierczak. Charles O. Newlin Scholarship in Turfgrass Management (awarded in Feb for this current spring semester): Logan Mohr